Open FAIR™ Certification

The Open FAIR Certification for People program is aimed at meeting the needs of risk analysts and organizations employing risk analysts. The program is based on the Open FAIR (Factor Analysis of Information Risk), which provides a model and taxonomy for understanding, analyzing, and measuring information risk.

The Open FAIR Certification Program is based on the Open FAIR™ Body of Knowledge, which is comprised of two standards:

The Open Group has also published additional risk analysis guidance, which may be useful to risk practitioners and as additional background for those seeking Open FAIR Foundation certification. These documents can be found in The Open Group Library and are listed on the Security Forum Risk Analysis publications page

Open FAIR certification is available to individuals who want to demonstrate their knowledge and understanding of the body of knowledge for The Open Group FAIR Certification Program.


Currently, Open FAIR certification exists at the Foundation level (Level 1). The Open FAIR Part 1 examination for the Open FAIR Foundation level can be taken at a Pearson VUE test center, with an Accredited Training course (for trainers that provide the exam with the course), or at home or in your office.


An Open Badge is available for this certification (for information on The Open Group Open Badges program see here).

Certification for Individuals

Learning & Training Examination More resources




Accreditation of Open FAIR Training Courses


See also:

Click here to check if your organization is a license holder.



Please contact The Open Group Open FAIR Certification Authority by email.


The Open Group Platinum Members